DUI conviction, you are likely facing serious penalties and difficult logistical
issues. Your license may have been
suspended for months or years and you are likely left wondering how you are going
to get to work or run errands or continue your daily routines.
Fortunately, there is a possibility that you could obtain a conditional
license after a DUI conviction. Whether or not you are eligible is a matter
that will depend on the facts of your case. Should you decide to pursue
this option, you will need to draw upon the guidance and advice of a skilled attorney.
Eligibility for a Conditional License in California
Many complex laws govern whether or not you are able to obtain a conditional
license after being convicted of DUI. Although there are some basic requirements
to being eligible for a conditional or hardship license, your case may
lead to different results.
The basic requirements for getting a hardship license in California include:
- Previous possession of a non-commercial driver license
- Proof of enrollment in a DUI treatment program
- Proof of financial responsibility and pay
- $125 reissue fee after the mandatory 30-day suspension
This restricted license will not give you back all your former freedoms.
This license is meant to allow you to get to and from any DUI treatment
programs you are enrolled in, as well as to and from your job, school,
or other obligations.
Medical Treatment License
If you have a serious health condition and require a vehicle to get to
and from your medical treatments or appointments, you may be able to get
a restricted medical treatment license as well. To obtain this license,
you will need thorough documentation from a licensed health care provider,
such as your physician.
Learn more about your options by calling the
Law Offices of Evan E. Zelig. As an experienced Santa Rosa DUI attorney, Evan can walk you through
your circumstances and help you make informed decisions about your future.
Contact us today!