Santa Rosa DUI Attorney
Trusted DUI Defense in Sonoma County - (707) 418-5352
If you find yourself facing charges for driving under the influence (DUI),
it is imperative to your future that you hire an attorney to represent
your case. At the
Law Offices of Evan E. Zelig, we have more than a decade of experience practicing
criminal law and we dedicate a significant portion of our caseload to DUI defense.
We work hard to make sure that your charges do not negatively impact your
driving privileges and future.
Why Choose Our Santa Rosa DUI Lawyer?
- 10+ years' experience in criminal law
- Thousands of criminal cases handled
- Aggressive, client-focused advocacy
- 24/7 availability by phone for a free case review
When you hire our firm, we use our extensive knowledge and up-to-date strategies
in DUI defense to your advantage. We provide hands-on, aggressive advocacy
to help you beat your charges. You will always know your options at every
step, and we are always available 24/7 by phone to talk to you.
Discuss your DUI charges during a
FREE case review. Please
call our drunk driving defense firm now.
California DUI Penalties
Whether this is your first arrest for DUI or you have a prior record, the
penalties involved can be quite drastic. Penalties for repeat offenders
and cases involving fatalities will be much worse. DUI consequences vary
according to the circumstances of the arrest, but they most often include:
- Driver's license suspension
- Points on your driver's license
- Jail time
- Significant fines
- Community service
- Installing an ignition interlock device
Refusing a Breath, Blood, or Urine Test in CA
In the state of California, drivers who are lawfully arrested for DUI are
required to submit to a breath, blood, or urine test to measure their
blood alcohol concentration (BAC) under the state’s “implied
consent” law. While many people believe that they can avoid being
convicted of DUI by refusing to take these tests, test refusal is a crime
in and of itself and can expose you to further penalties.
Refusing a chemical test in California can bring the following consequences:
First offense: 1 year driver’s license suspension
Second offense: 2 year driver’s license suspension
Third offense: 3 year driver’s license suspension
In addition to a license suspension, refusing a chemical test will carry
a $125 fine and will usually be used by the prosecution as evidence of
guilt. Likewise, it is important to remember that depriving the prosecution
of evidence of your BAC is in no way a guarantee that you will not be
convicted of DUI. The state does not need to be able to prove that you
were over the legal limit, only that you had enough alcohol in your system
to be unfit to drive. Generally speaking, it is recommended to submit
to a test and contact an attorney from our firm as soon as possible.
You Do Not Have to Plead Guilty
One of the most common misconceptions about driving under the influence
cases is that a driver is as good as guilty if they register a BAC above
the legal limit. While a positive breath, blood, or urine test is indeed
powerful evidence, there are still many ways that your defense can protect
you against the prosecution’s claims. Our team of attorneys can
review the circumstances surrounding your arrest and determine the most
appropriate legal strategy to pursue.
Common defenses against drunk driving charges include:
Illegal stop: You may not be convicted of drunk driving if your arresting police officer
did not have sufficient probable cause to pull you over in the first place.
Improper breathalyzer use: Just as speeding tickets can be contested by challenging the officer’s
proper use of a radar gun, the same strategy can be used against DUI charges.
Improper administration of field sobriety tests: Field sobriety tests (FSTs) that are administered improperly can yield
inaccurate results. For example, the horizontal gaze nystagmus (HGN) test
which measures eye reflexes is often contested.
Mishandling of blood tests: Your defense may be able to question whether your blood test incorrectly
administered, stored, or otherwise tampered with in the chain of custody.
Call an Aggressive Sonoma County DUI Attorney Today!
We understand that being arrested for DUI can be overwhelming and stressful.
You may think that the
field sobriety tests and
blood/breath tests you took will lead to an automatic conviction, but there are a number
of effective ways we can help you challenge the evidence presented against you.
Our Santa Rosa DUI lawyer and legal team work directly with you to fight
these charges, which can include scrutinizing the accuracy of blood alcohol
content testing devices, questioning whether the arresting officer violated
your rights, and more. Our lead Santa Rosa DUI attorney understands the
ins and outs of DUI prosecution and how to capably
defend DUI charges. Whether you've been charged with your
first DUI offense, have
multiple DUI charges, or are even facing a
felony DUI charge, we'll be right there with you from the arrest to your
DMV hearings and all the way to trial.
Please call (707) 418-5352 today to schedule a
free case evaluation with our Santa Rosa criminal defense attorney!