DMV Driver's License Suspensions
Reckless Driving Charge in Santa Rosa? Suspended or Revoked License? Call
Now: (707) 418-5352.
DMV license suspensions and charges of driving with a suspended driver's
license is unlike other motor vehicle traffic violations. This offense
imposes hefty fines, probation, and/or a jail sentence. You should speak
with a Santa Rosa license suspension attorney at our office as quickly
as possible after receiving this charge. Your penalties could increase
depending on the presence of any underlying offenses accompanying the
charge of driving with a suspended license. There are a number of criminal
offenses that cause a mandatory or discretionary license suspension, and
your suspension lawyer can help you avoid this penalty, if possible.
Why Choose Our Santa Rosa DMV License Suspension Lawyer?
- Thousands of criminal cases successfully handled
Super Lawyers® Rising Stars℠ 2015
- Tenacious, client-centric representation
- 24/7 availability to answer calls and give a free review
Learn how we can help protect your driver's license. Call (707) 418-5352 for a
FREE case consult.
Causes of License Suspensions
License suspension offenses are delineated under the California Vehicle
Code section 14601.
Under these statutes, drivers in Santa Rosa could face suspension for any
of the following:
- Reckless driving, which is defined as driving with a willful or malicious
disregard for the safety of other people or property
Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs (DUI)
- A physical or mental condition precluding the safe operation of a vehicle
- Declaration as a "negligent operator," which usually occurs after
accumulating too many points on your license
Penalties for Driving with a Suspended License
Under California law, the penalties arising from driving with a suspended
license will vary based on the reason for the suspension. The law requires
the prosecutor to prove that your license was, in fact, suspended at the
time of the charge
and you were aware of the suspension. Proving you did not know about the suspension
can be difficult, and you should not attempt this defense without the
assistance of a knowledgeable license suspension attorney.
For first-time offenders caught operating a vehicle with a suspended license,
a minimum jail sentence of five days or a maximum of six months is possible,
depending upon the underlying reason for the suspension. If the license
is suspended due to a DUI conviction, the minimum jail sentence is 10
days and maximum is 6 months. First-time offenders also face fines ranging
from $300 to $1,000. These penalties increase to a minimum of 10 days
and maximum of one year in jail for subsequent offenses, and carry a possible
fine amount ranging from $500 to $2,000.
Protect Your License with Our DMV License Suspension Lawyer
The Law Offices of Evan E. Zelig, P.C. can assist you if you recently endured
a charge of driving with a suspended license or you are facing other DMV
license suspensions. Whether you lost your license following a DUI or
due to another underlying charge, call us for help immediately. Time is
of the essence so get started today.
Dial (707) 418-5352
to reach our experienced attorney.