Felony DUI in California
Santa Rosa DUI Lawyer
driving under the influence (DUI) arrests in California will constitute a misdemeanor criminal offense.
There are circumstances, however, that can escalate this common charge
to a felony, bringing with it increases penalties and higher stakes. If
you were pulled over and slapped with a felony DUI charge, now is the
time to take action and prepare to defend your future.
Contact the Law Offices of Evan E. Zelig, P.C. today and talk to our Santa Rosa DUI attorney about what you should do next.
How a DUI Becomes a Felony in CA
There are three distinct ways in California law that a DUI can constitute a felony:
Injury or death: When an intoxicated motorist’s driving causes a car accident that
leads to the serious injury or death of another person, the DUI will be
charged as a felony. Establishing liability in such cases is critical
for the validity of the charges.
Fourth-time DUI: California has a lookback period of 10 years for DUI convictions, meaning
a DUI will stay active on your record for 10 years. If you are arrested
for a DUI for the fourth-time within 10 years, it will automatically be
charged as a felony, regardless of the circumstances of your previous
Prior felony DUI: Any prior felony DUI on your driving record, even if it exists outside
California’s active lookback period, will cause your next DUI to
be a felony no matter what the details of your arrest may be.
Penalties for Felony DUIs
California legislation penalizes felony DUI offenders quite harshly. The
maximum penalties are frequently used in convictions, offering little
leeway. If you want to avoid being hit with the full force of the law,
you should allow our criminal defense lawyers to stand between you and
the judge’s gavel.
If you are convicted of a felony DUI, you could face punishment in the form of:
Up to $18,000 in fines and assessment fees
Up to 16 months in state prison
90-day impoundment of vehicle (with additional fees)
Four-year revocation of driver’s license (will require fees to reinstate)
Mandatory 30-month alcoholism treatment and prevention program
If your felony
DUI charge involves the injury or death of another motorist, you must be aware that your conviction could
also compound with penalties related to vehicular manslaughter and any
other criminal charges.
Fight Your Felony DUI Charges – Call (707) 418-5352
So much of your future wellbeing is on the line when you have been charged
with a felony DUI, you cannot possibly leave it up to chance. Secure the
professional defense services of our Santa Rosa DUI attorney and start
to take control of this pressing situation. With our firm’s assistance
and legal counsel, you could have your charges reduced to a misdemeanor
or dismissed entirely. No matter the force of the opposition, we do not
rest until a satisfactory conclusion is met.
Get answers from a
Sonoma County criminal defense lawyer during a
free case evaluation!