First DUI in California
Santa Rosa DUI Attorney Evan Zelig
Make no mistake – if you have been arrested for
driving under the influence (DUI) for the first time in Sonoma County, then you will not be offered any
form of leniency. Compared to many other states within the nation, California
has some of the harshest penalties for first-offense DUI convictions.
Penalties may vary depending on limited circumstances but most first DUI
license suspension for 4 months or more
- 4 days to 6 months in jail
- $390 to $1,000 in fines
- Additional fees and taxes
- $125 license reissue fee
- Mandatory ignition interlock installation
Some form of DUI safety awareness or driver’s training program will
also be necessary. Many of these courses will require several weeks of
attendance to complete and offer no form of compensation for the time
taken out of your schedule. You will also have to file an SR-22 form for
additional costs when your license is reinstated to prove that you possess
current auto insurance.
The penalties are heavy! Keep your chin up by
contacting our Santa Rosa DUI lawyer today.
Plea Bargains & First-Offense DUIs
There are situations when your intoxication may be so prevalent, you cannot
reasonably contend that you had not been drinking. While this is certainly
not an ideal situation, you are not entirely out of luck and at the mercy
of the criminal justice system and the Department of Motor Vehicle’s
(DMV) administrative penalties. With the help of an experienced DUI defense
attorney, you may be able to negotiate a plea bargain for reduced punishments
and sentencing, arguing that your otherwise clean record and your forgiveness
now are indicative that you will not commit a similar offense again.
Plea bargains are complicated procedures, though. In effect, you will be
admitted that you have committed the crime of driving under the influence
of alcohol. If the plea bargain is not accepted, you put yourself at a
serious disadvantage for the following trial. Only proceed with a plea
bargain if you have worked thoroughly with our defense attorney beforehand.
You can trust Sonoma County DUI Attorney Evan Zelig with your case because he has:
- More than 10 years of experience in criminal law and DUI defense
- Handled thousands of cases
- 10.0 “Superb” Avvo Rating
Super Lawyers® Rising Stars℠
Sort out the details of your first DUI defense with our help. Get a
free case evaluation today.