Arrested for DUI in Sonoma County?

You Only Have 10 Days to Save Your License!

According to California law, you only have 10 days to request a DMV hearing after you've been arrested for driving under the influence (DUI). Why is this important? Because attending a DMV hearing is the only chance you have to prevent your driver's license from being suspended. Police officers immediately confiscate drivers' licenses when they make DUI arrests, but motorists still have the chance to retain their driving privileges by requesting, attending, and winning their DMV hearings.

What Is a DMV Hearing?

DMV hearings are exactly that—hearings, but held at the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) instead of criminal court. These administrative hearings allow you to present an argument in your defense in order to reverse the suspension of your driver's license. Otherwise, you will be unable to drive until your DUI case is decided.

If you win your DMV hearing, then your driver's license will be returned to you and you will have a stronger argument to present for your criminal DUI proceeding. Should you lose your DMV hearing, your license suspension will continue, but your DUI case in criminal court will be unaffected. In order to get your license back in this situation, you will need to win your criminal DUI case by getting your charges dropped or your case dismissed. In any case, a conviction will result in the suspension of your license.

License Suspension Periods for DUI in California:

  • First DUI: 6 – 10 months.
  • Second DUI**: 2 years.
  • Third DUI**: 3 years.
  • Fourth or subsequent DUI**: Felony DUI; 10 years.

Why You Need a DUI Lawyer for a DMV Hearing

You are not required to have an attorney at a DMV hearing; however, having a lawyer attend your hearing on your behalf will greatly increase your chances of keeping your license. Do not take chances with your freedom. Act now to get a Sonoma County DUI attorney on your side. Call the Law Offices of Evan E. Zelig, P.C.

Contact Us at (707) 418-5352 for a Free Case Evaluation with a DUI Lawyer in Sonoma County

** Within a 10-year period.


Santa Rosa DMV

2570 Corby Ave.
Santa Rosa, CA 95407

(800) 777-0133

Petaluma DMV

715 - J Southpoint Blvd.
Petaluma, CA 94954

(800) 777-0133

Protect Your Rights Now

Request Your Free Consultation

Send My Information