DUI Penalties in Sonoma County, CA
Sonoma County DUI Defense Attorney – 707.418.5352
California will show no leniency whatsoever when penalizing those convicted
of driving under the influence (DUI). If you were arrested for a DUI in Sonoma County, you must prepare for
an aggressive prosecution and steep penalties linked to your sentencing.
At the Law Offices of Evan E. Zelig, P.C., our Sonoma County DUI lawyer
believes in the fair fight and the strong representation of the criminally
accused. Start working towards the proper defense you need by
contacting our firm right now.
Harsh Penalties for First-Time DUI
criminal accusations, the accused might be able to assume that the punishments upon conviction
will be slightly lessened if it is their first conviction for that crime
and they have a spotless criminal record. For a DUI, this is simply not
the case. The state of California has gained infamy for always using the
strictest penalties it can for first-time DUIs.
First-offense penalties for a DUI in California are:
- 4-month or longer license suspension
- Up to 6 months in jail
- Possible $1,000 fine
- Approximately $800 in fees
- Ignition interlock device installation
- Mandatory DUI counseling program
As it is stated on California’s own Department of Motor Vehicle (DMV)
website, subsequent DUI offenses that reach conviction are considered
to be “increased” offenses and will carry longer jail time
and higher fines. In a worst case scenario, if you cause injury to someone
while driving intoxicated and it is your “Third Strike” on
your criminal record, you will be sentenced to life in prison with no
parole for 25 years.
Penalties for Refusing Chemical Tests
At our Sonoma County DUI law firm, we have seen again and again clients
who refused to take a chemical test back at the station for fear the result
would lead to their conviction. What most did not know is that refusing
a chemical test, such as blood, breath, or urine testing, will result
in the automatic suspension of a driver’s license due to Admin Per Se laws.
Refusing to take a chemical test will result in:
- One-year suspension for first incident
- Two-year revocation for second incident
- Three-year revocation for third- or fourth-incident
In nearly all possible scenarios, there is no beneficial reason to refuse
a chemical test. An Admin Per Se suspension is administrative, so you
cannot rely on a criminal hearing to contest it. If you
do take a chemical test and it reports you have a blood alcohol content (BAC)
level over 0.08%, there are ways to challenge the result with the help
of a highly-experienced Sonoma DUI attorney from our firm.
Start Working On Your Defense Today – Free Consults Available
Do not sit idly by after you have been arrested for a DUI. The penalties
upon conviction will be severe, whether this is your first DUI arrest
or not. Call
707.418.5352 and speak to our Sonoma County DUI attorney to discuss your possible defense
options. We may be able to get your sentence reduced or your case totally
dismissed. It all starts with a
FREE case evaluation.