On January 1st, 2019, a number of updates and changes to California’s criminal justice and public safety laws took effect. Everything from police transparency to gun control laws have seen adjustments and new statutes in the New Year. To stay out of legal trouble and to effectively protect your rights if you do get into it, you should know some of the key 2019 updates.
Some of the most prominent updates to California’s criminal justice laws are:
- Senate Bill 1046: Effective from January 1st, 2019 to January 1st, 2026, a pilot program will authorize the installation of ignition interlock devices (IID) in the vehicle of drivers who have been granted a restricted driver’s license, a reissued driver’s license, or a special motor vehicle operation privilege after being convicted of driving under the influence (DUI).
- Senate Bill 439: The minimum age for the prosecution of a minor in a juvenile crimes case has been established at 12 years old. There may be exceptions for severe criminal cases, such as murder or rape.
- Senate Bill 1391: Criminal defendants under the age of 16 can no longer be tried as an adult. As a result, criminal defendants under the age of 16 can only be sentenced to a juvenile detention facility, rather than a jail or prison.
- Assembly Bill 748: Police bodycam footage and audio must be disclosed to the public within 45 days after a police incident is said to have caused the death or injury of a suspect, witness, or any other person. Senate Bill 1421 works in conjunction with AB 748 to allow public access to those records.
- Senate Bill 1200: Ammunition and bullet drums can now be confiscated by law enforcement agents during an investigation or search. Senate Bill 1100 also attempts gun control enforcement by banning anyone younger than 21-years of age from purchasing a rifle, shotgun, or other form of long gun. There are exceptions to SB 1100, though, which permit law enforcement officers, military service members, and hunters with valid licenses to purchase long guns still. Lastly, Assembly Bill 2103 requires the completion of eight hours of gun-handling training and a shooting range proficiency examination before a person can receive a concealed carry weapon permit.
- Assembly Bill 3129: Possibly the most controversial of California’s 2019 criminal law updates, this bill permanently removes the right to possess a firearm from anyone convicted of a misdemeanor domestic violence offense.
Are you not certain of your rights in California after the 2019 legal changes? Have you been charged with a crime that might be related to the updates? Come to the Law Offices of Evan E. Zelig, P.C. to discuss the situation and your rights with our award-winning Santa Rosa criminal defense attorney. We offer free consultations to inquiring clients, so do not hesitate to call (707) 418-5352 today.