Santa Rosa DUI Attorney
Trusted DUI Defense in Sonoma County - (707) 418-5352
If you find yourself facing charges for driving under the influence (DUI), it is imperative to your future that you hire an attorney to represent your case. At the Law Offices of Evan E. Zelig, we have more than a decade of experience practicing criminal law and we dedicate a significant portion of our caseload to DUI defense. We work hard to make sure that your charges do not negatively impact your driving privileges and future.
Why Choose Our Santa Rosa DUI Lawyer?
- 10+ years' experience in criminal law
- Thousands of criminal cases handled
- Aggressive, client-focused advocacy
- 24/7 availability by phone for a free case review
When you hire our firm, we use our extensive knowledge and up-to-date strategies in DUI defense to your advantage. We provide hands-on, aggressive advocacy to help you beat your charges. You will always know your options at every step, and we are always available 24/7 by phone to talk to you.
California DUI Penalties
Whether this is your first arrest for DUI or you have a prior record, the penalties involved can be quite drastic. Penalties for repeat offenders and cases involving fatalities will be much worse. DUI consequences vary according to the circumstances of the arrest, but they most often include:
- Driver's license suspension
- Points on your driver's license
- Jail time
- Significant fines
- Community service
- Installing an ignition interlock device
Refusing a Breath, Blood, or Urine Test in CA
In the state of California, drivers who are lawfully arrested for DUI are required to submit to a breath, blood, or urine test to measure their blood alcohol concentration (BAC) under the state’s “implied consent” law. While many people believe that they can avoid being convicted of DUI by refusing to take these tests, test refusal is a crime in and of itself and can expose you to further penalties.
Refusing a chemical test in California can bring the following consequences:
- First offense: 1 year driver’s license suspension
- Second offense: 2 year driver’s license suspension
- Third offense: 3 year driver’s license suspension
In addition to a license suspension, refusing a chemical test will carry a $125 fine and will usually be used by the prosecution as evidence of guilt. Likewise, it is important to remember that depriving the prosecution of evidence of your BAC is in no way a guarantee that you will not be convicted of DUI. The state does not need to be able to prove that you were over the legal limit, only that you had enough alcohol in your system to be unfit to drive. Generally speaking, it is recommended to submit to a test and contact an attorney from our firm as soon as possible.
You Do Not Have to Plead Guilty
One of the most common misconceptions about driving under the influence cases is that a driver is as good as guilty if they register a BAC above the legal limit. While a positive breath, blood, or urine test is indeed powerful evidence, there are still many ways that your defense can protect you against the prosecution’s claims. Our team of attorneys can review the circumstances surrounding your arrest and determine the most appropriate legal strategy to pursue.
Common defenses against drunk driving charges include:
- Illegal stop: You may not be convicted of drunk driving if your arresting police officer did not have sufficient probable cause to pull you over in the first place.
- Improper breathalyzer use: Just as speeding tickets can be contested by challenging the officer’s proper use of a radar gun, the same strategy can be used against DUI charges.
- Improper administration of field sobriety tests: Field sobriety tests (FSTs) that are administered improperly can yield inaccurate results. For example, the horizontal gaze nystagmus (HGN) test which measures eye reflexes is often contested.
- Mishandling of blood tests: Your defense may be able to question whether your blood test incorrectly administered, stored, or otherwise tampered with in the chain of custody.
Call an Aggressive Sonoma County DUI Attorney Today!
We understand that being arrested for DUI can be overwhelming and stressful. You may think that the field sobriety tests and blood/breath tests you took will lead to an automatic conviction, but there are a number of effective ways we can help you challenge the evidence presented against you.
Our Santa Rosa DUI lawyer and legal team work directly with you to fight these charges, which can include scrutinizing the accuracy of blood alcohol content testing devices, questioning whether the arresting officer violated your rights, and more. Our lead Santa Rosa DUI attorney understands the ins and outs of DUI prosecution and how to capably defend DUI charges. Whether you've been charged with your first DUI offense, have multiple DUI charges, or are even facing a felony DUI charge, we'll be right there with you from the arrest to your DMV hearings and all the way to trial.
Please call (707) 418-5352 today to schedule a free case evaluation with our Santa Rosa criminal defense attorney!