Sonoma County DUI Penalties
Facing DUI Penalties in Sonoma County? Get Defense
California will show no leniency whatsoever when penalizing those convicted of driving under the influence (DUI). If you were arrested for a DUI in Sonoma County, you must prepare for an aggressive prosecution and steep penalties linked to your sentencing. At the Law Offices of Evan E. Zelig, P.C., our Sonoma County DUI lawyer believes in the fair fight and the strong representation of the criminally accused.
Start working towards the proper defense you need by contacting our firm right now.
Harsh Penalties for First-Time DUI
For some criminal accusations, the accused might be able to assume that the punishments upon conviction will be slightly lessened if it is their first conviction for that crime and they have a spotless criminal record. For a DUI, this is simply not the case. The state of California has gained infamy for always using the strictest penalties it can for first-time DUIs.
First-offense penalties for a DUI in California are:
- 4-month or longer license suspension
- Up to 6 months in jail
- Possible $1,000 fine
- Approximately $800 in fees
- Ignition interlock device installation
- Mandatory DUI counseling program
As it is stated on California’s own Department of Motor Vehicle (DMV) website, subsequent DUI offenses that reach conviction are considered to be “increased” offenses and will carry longer jail time and higher fines. In a worst case scenario, if you cause injury to someone while driving intoxicated and it is your “Third Strike” on your criminal record, you will be sentenced to life in prison with no parole for 25 years.
Penalties for Refusing Chemical Tests in Sonoma County
At our Sonoma County DUI law firm, we have seen again and again clients who refused to take a chemical test back at the station for fear the result would lead to their conviction. What most did not know is that refusing a chemical test, such as blood, breath, or urine testing, will result in the automatic suspension of a driver’s license due to Admin Per Se laws.
Refusing to take a chemical test will result in:
- One-year suspension for first incident
- Two-year revocation for second incident
- Three-year revocation for third- or fourth-incident
In nearly all possible scenarios, there is no beneficial reason to refuse a chemical test. An Admin Per Se suspension is administrative, so you cannot rely on a criminal hearing to contest it. If you do take a chemical test and it reports you have a blood alcohol content (BAC) level over 0.08%, there are ways to challenge the result with the help of a highly-experienced Sonoma DUI attorney from our firm.
Start Working On Your Defense Today – Free Consults Available
Do not sit idly by after you have been arrested for a DUI. The Sonoma County DUI penalties upon conviction will be severe, whether this is your first DUI arrest or not. We may be able to get your sentence reduced or your case totally dismissed. It all starts with a free case evaluation.
Facing DUI penalties in Sonoma County? Call (707) 418-5352 and speak to our Sonoma County DUI attorney to discuss your possible defense options.
Looking for a criminal defense attorney who will fight for you every step of the way? Press play on the video to the right and gain valuable insights on how the Law Offices of Evan E. Zelig can help you. Our experienced attorney is here to guide you through the legal process and fight for your rights. Don't wait any longer, press play now and take the first step towards protecting your future.
Our Clients Tell It Best
"Evan provided professional and responsive representation during an inconvenient experience. He was always available when needed, knew all the details of the process, and was up-to-speed on the latest details of the law."Former Client
"I can't speak any higher about my experience with Evan."Matt
"I definitely recommend him to anybody!"Chloe D.
15+ Years' Experience in Criminal Law
Prompt Response Times
Aggressive, Proactive Approach to Handling Cases
Hands-On Guidance & Support Through the Criminal Justice System
Whether you have questions or you’re ready to get started, our legal team is ready to help. Complete our form below or call us at (707) 418-5352.